ITIL® 4 Foundation

This course prepares participants for the examination leading to the ITIL® 4 Foundation certificate. The exam is a 60-minute, 40 question, multiple-choice format test; a passing mark of 65% is required to receive your certificate. Two sample exams are delivered during the course to help prepare attendees for the final exam. This certification is the prerequisite for advanced levels of ITIL® 4 certification.  

ITIL 4 Certification Courses Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2023. Used under permission of AXELOS Limited.
All rights reserved

Learning Outcomes

The course is designed as an introduction to ITIL® 4 and enables you to understand a new way to look at IT Service Management through a Service Value System (SVS).

ITIL® 4 takes you through an evolved view of a Service Value System (SVS), which provides a holistic end-to-end picture of what it really means to contribute to business value, and also integrates concepts from models such as Lean IT, Agile and DevOps. 

The agenda includes:

  • Key concepts of service management
  • Key concepts of value creation
  • Key concepts of service relationships 
  • Components of the ITIL® 4 service value system 
  • The ITIL® 4 service value chain 
  • The four dimensions of service management
  • ITIL® 4 practices 
  • The seven ITIL® 4 guiding principles

Who Should Attend?

ITIL® 4 Foundation training is essential for anyone involved in the internal or external delivery of IT services:

  • Individuals at the start of their journey in service management
  • ITSM managers and aspiring ITSM managers 
  • Individuals working in other parts of IT (digital, product, development) with a strong interface to service delivery 
  • Existing ITIL® 4 qualification holders wishing to update their knowledge 


Course and Exam Details

Each course prepares the candidate for a closed-book exam, which consists of 40 multiple-choice questions. As part of the course fee, each candidate receives an exam voucher which allows them to schedule the exam at their convenience on any date after completion of the course.

Intermediate level (Managing Professional Transition, Specialist, Strategist, and Leader courses) exam candidates are given 90 minutes to complete the exam and must receive a passing grade of 70% in order to receive their certificate.


There are no mandatory prerequisites, however, work experience in IT services is recommended.

Course Registration Information

To register for all ITIL® 4 classes, please contact Jill Zimmerman using the contact information below.

Jill Zimmerman

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.